Lawrence, MA City Government 1908

When Lawrence incorporated as a city in 1853 municipal government changed from a board of five selectmen to a mayor, a board of six aldermen, and a common council of eighteen.  In 1911 city government changed to a mayor and four aldermen.  This was eventually superseded by a government of a mayor and nine member City Council in 1983.

Front left to right: Joseph A. Woodhall, John F. Kane (mayor), John Joseph Breen, and Michael M. Garvey.  Back: Cornelius J. Corcoran (city clerk), Edward A. Dolan, John Tobin, and John F. Young.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: